O meni:

Sem še relativno mlad (v '30 letih) inženir informatike iz Ljubljane. Teme, ki me najbolj zanimajo: dogodki po svetu (novice, politika), zgodovina, znanost (sploh vesolje)

Dodatek: o težavah z resetiranjem PC-ja

Kot nekakšen dodatek k prejšnji (v njej sem omenil, da sem naknadno zamenjal še PSU s čisto novim) in pred-prejšnji (ta je opisovala menjavo grafične kartice), bom danes postal še tekst od mojega uvodnega posta (o tem mojem problemu) iz diskusije na Ars OpenForum forumu, ki sem jo isti dan (ko sem zamenjal PSU in ugotovil, da se restartanja še vedno dogajajo) tam odprl in katera vse lepo strnjeno opiše.

Gre skratka za diskusijo naslovljeno “Further about the cause for my PC’s restarts“, ki sem jo o tem mojem problemu isti dan odprl na zgoraj v uvodu te objave omenjenem forumu.

This thread is a continuing of the Random restarts that are giving me a headache thread (which was itself also a sort of a continuing of this, and maybe also this one), in which I described the spontaneous and more or less random computer restarts (although in a few cases I can cause it intentionally, e.g. when I open a huge .pdf file, or a video clip or flash animation, also see below) restarts, and asked what might be the reason for them; I must stress once again that in case of these restarts there is no BSOD, scandisk is not scheduled (i.e. “dirty-flag” set for the system drive) after they occur, there is no entry in the Event Viewer etc.

So to repeat/summarize in one long sentence: in the linked thread we agreed that it’s most probably my old PSU’s (which fan was not working anymore for quite some time, and when I opened it I saw that things are melted inside), or maybe my graphic-card’s (which has a fan for which I think it’s also not working since it’s spinning very badly, compare for instance to my case fan) fault, especially because I checked the hard-disk numerous times with chkdsk.exe (no bad sectors found; I speculated that it might be a bad sector that is accessed/attempted to be read from/written to, and that this is when/why the restart occurs) and its manufacturer’s “diagnose/repair utility” (I speculated that, I would say that there might be a bad sector that is accessed (attempted to be read from/written to) only very rarely, and when it is the restart occurs), checked the RAM with Memtest86+ etc.

While the temperature is also not the cause because after cleaning the fans a few days ago (case’s and CPU’s one) and with the two new PSU’s fans (also see two paragraphs below) the CPU’s temperature is only 30-33 C (compare to 40-45 C before the cleaning) when working something on it (yeah, before I wrote this post when the PC was idle for half an hour or so it was even less, only 28 C), while after the cleaning the casing’s temp. is around 20 C, mobo’s around 25 C, and hard-disk’s is now only 35 C (compare to >50 C before the cleaning and without the mentioned two new PSU’s fans)

But now listen to this, as an addition to upgrading the graphic-card’s drives (and the restarts were still occurring) I switched the then used (and better) nVidia GeForce4 MX 440 with my old ATI Rage128 PRO II graphic-card (but still, the restarts were still occurring), and I finally also replaced the PSU a few days ago, but guess what, to my big surprise the restarts are still occurring!! The only difference is maybe that compare to before (i.e. with the old PSU still in) they mostly occurred when I was working with the computer (made a specific action, like mentioned above, opened a .pdf file, launched a player playing some video etc.), now they occur even if I don’t do anything special (and certainly nothing “stressful” for the computer), e.g. the restart occured twice like 5 minutes after launching F@H (btw. before, with the old PSU used, it never happened this way, I ran F@H without any problems), as far as I remember this was actually the first time ever that it occur this way (i.e. ehwn I was away from the PC)

Torej, še preden bom dokončno obupal nad vso stvarjo in zaključil, da je vzrok za ta resetiranja kar sam CPU, ali pa matična plošča (oz. kakšen njen posamezni del), bom prej še odstranil RAM modula (imam dva 256 MB, SDRAM, 133 MHz) enega za drugim in laufati računalnik nekaj časa samo z enim in nekaj časa samo z drugim.

P.S. – In pa ja, “naj vam bo”, srečno novo leto vam želim, čeprav ga sam ne praznujem več (in sem nekako “ponosen” na to) in je skratka zame to čisto navaden dan, pač, tak kot vsi drugi; več o razlogih za to pa morda v kakšni objavi v letu 2009.

Tadej

2 komentarja on “Dodatek: o težavah z resetiranjem PC-ja”

  1. Gregor Barič pravi:

    Pozdravljeni!

    Slučajno sem našel vaš blog in glede na to, da se že 14 dni ubadam z enakim problemom kot vi (naključni restarti računalnika), me zanima, če ste uspeli rešiti problem?

    Jaz sem na svojem Core 2 duo 2,4 GHZ, 2gb ram 400 gb disk, MSI, Intel Chipset poiskušal že sledeče:
    – zamenjal ram
    – zamenjal napajalnik
    – zamenjal grafično
    – odstranil vse PCI kartice (itak je bila samo M- AUDIO zvočna)
    – z novo silikonsko procesor pasto namazal procesor in hladilnik

    Ostaneta mi še disk in matična plošča. Pa me vseeno zanima, v čem je bil vaš problem.

    Hvala za odgovor!

    Gregor Barič

  2. tadej pravi:

    Sem vam kar e-mail poslal!!

    Tadej


Oddajte komentar

